Charity and Freedom

Samaritan's Purse

Samaritan’s Purse (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the book, “The Red String,” there is limited freedom, specifically, limited economic freedom. Charity is not a choice: it is forced.  So what, people that have too much stuff should give it away anyhow, right?  Well, taking freedom away in the name of fairness is in itself robbery.  ”Joyful giving” is charity done from the heart.  I once considered promoting my book by stating that I would donate a portion of the proceeds from the book to a specific charity.  I may still donate proceeds to charity, but I won’t tell you which one or how much.

Why? Two reasons- #1- I respect your freedom to find and be generous to your own charity- one that your heart, conscience or God tells you is where you should give with a joyful heart. #2- I refuse to use charity to lure you into buying my book.  Yes, I give to charity. Sure, I hope you do, too.  But I also value freedom.

That being said, I would love to suggest a few charities that you may not have heard of.  There are many people out there in the “rescue business”- similar to some of the characters in “The Red String.” They sacrifice their time, money, and sometimes their lives to help those who have lost hope or are in desperate need.  They should be supported. Pray, donate money, give your time. Whatever you feel led to do.

Here’s a short list-

The Eternal Threads

Samaritan’s Purse

International Justice Mission

International Justice Mission (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

International Justice Mission

Alpha Relief

Blood Water Mission

Sevenly

All Girls Allowed

 

One thought on “Charity and Freedom

  1. Pingback: Charity and Freedom | The Days of the Guardian Blog

Thanks for following Author D. Marie Prokop. You are awesome.

