“Lovers in a Dangerous Time”

“She is quite spirited… but only I can make her a spirit.”

***

Reynolds looked ashamed.

“I did it for love,” he responded simply, causing Mark to be thoroughly confused.

“Love? Are you crazy?”

***

Despite her hopeless state, Li had shown her what love does- always believes, constantly hopes, never leaves.

The Red String

“Lovers in a Dangerous Time” by the superb Canadian singer/songwriter, has been one of my all time favorite songs for over a decade. I would like to proclaim it as my life’s theme, but alas, my own ‘kicking at the darkness’ falls short of what I aspire to. As a person of faith, I attribute this love I have in my heart, an unexplainable love, a misunderstood love, as a love that comes from something bigger than myself.  These dangerous times cry out for that kind of love. The story, “The Red String” is one way I can demonstrate the beauty of this kind of love- love that always believes, constantly hopes, and never leaves.

Bruce Cockburn has been singing this song since 1983. Some of you weren’t even born yet. I was a mere 8 years old at the time. That was the year I gave my heart to someone bigger than myself- the One who created love, the One who is love. I was a “spirit open to the thrust of grace.” Are you?

http://youtu.be/NKjgJ3oLJqE

An interesting factoid… is that Bono of U2 has used this in a song on the ‘Rattle and Hum’ album on the song ‘God Part II’: “heard a singer on the radio late last night says he’s gonna kick the darkness till it bleeds daylight”. Of course Bruce Cockburn is credited for his contribution to the song.

Found at-  http://cockburnproject.net/songs%26music/liadt.html

 

3 thoughts on ““Lovers in a Dangerous Time”

  1. Yes, I am also a spirit who strives to stay open to the thrust of grace–God’s grace–someone who responds to his prompts, so I can be part of what he’s doing in this world. Someone who shares his love with others. Those are my desires.

    Thank you for becoming a follower of my blog, Diane. I am honored you find the posts meaningful.

    Like

Thanks for following Author D. Marie Prokop. You are awesome.

