Rescue

I heard this song on the Under the Radar podcast. (http://undertheradar.reframemedia.com/episodes/episode-93-needtobreathe-lori-chaffer-jon-troast) I searched high and low for a video or even a link to listen to it, but was unsuccessful. Andrew Osenga is truly keeping this one “under the radar.”

The song was written for the record “Crooked Creek Songs,” an album for Young Life. This song is specifically for teens going through very real problems at home, but we can all relate to the line “I’m in need of a rescue.” “The Red String” is all about rescues. It’s what the Guardian does best.

I did find the lyrics…

Rescue 

by Andrew Osenga

the light was red but he didn’t stop
it hit me by surprise
I was shattered glass, all busted up
I never saw it coming
I thought he was one of the good guys

it’s hard to breathe with a broken heart
or a dagger in your back
it’s tough enough to trust someone
when love has left me bleeding
from the fatal wounds of a sneak attack

I’m in need of a rescue
in need of a rescue now
does anybody hear me?
I’m in need of a rescue
in need of a rescue now
save me, somebody, save me

I can’t take the heat in my own house
the doorknob’s glowing red
there’s a fire downstairs I can’t put out
a marriage turns to ashes
with the he said and the she said

I’m in need of a rescue
in need of a rescue now
does anybody hear me?
I’m in need of a rescue
in need of a rescue now
save me, somebody, save me

but my jagged journey’s brought me here
where I can start to see this clearly
what I need is someone near me
who loves me
truly loves me
who will break into this darkness
and carry me to light

I’m in need of a rescue
in need of a rescue now
I know you hear me
I’m in need of a rescue
in need of a rescue now
save me, save me

3 thoughts on “Rescue

  1. There are times when we need rescue; these lyrics do a great job encapsulating the feeling of hope as it slips from your grasp. I have a lot of respect for anyone who talks about such topics. It’s frightening but insightful.

    Like

Thanks for following Author D. Marie Prokop. You are awesome.

