Book Review- The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Is it bad that I am so impressed by author John Green that I begin to make things up to be impressed about, like for instance, his name. Only a humble, incredibly talented, un-auspicious person would use the simplest form possible of his first and last names as his author name. The fact that he doesn’t spell Green with an unnecessary ‘e’ on the end makes me sigh. It’s ridiculous.

Wait- isn’t this a review of The Fault in our Stars, not a confession of my weird author crush? Okay, focusing…

The Fault in our Stars is everything you’ve heard it is- and more. I knew what I was getting into when I opened this book. I bought the box of tissues recommended to accompany the reading. (And, yes, I used it.) But, for those of who have celebrated double digit birthdays, you are probably mature enough to know there is this thing called ‘a good cry.’  The Fault in our Stars is happy to facilitate that for you. The theme itself, the ultimate existential question, ‘what is this life?’ will always be accompanied by tears of some shape and size. I was ready. I thought so anyway.

The tears were a given, but this book also made me angry. I got angry that cancer exists, that children have it and die from it every day, that parents have to be the spectators of their children’s suffering, that true love is so rare and heart-wrenching, that God doesn’t provide easy answers, that people sometimes suck, and that this book forced me to see a world I had been satisfied to ignore. Again, just as there is this thing called ‘a good cry,’ there is righteous anger. It lends a scar to remind us to truly love people. Never let that righteous anger die. Questions that do not have easy answers still need to be asked. It’s okay, okay?

In between the tears and the spurts of anger, I spent the rest of the time laughing. These characters were some real characters, if you get my meaning. Sarcastic, sardonic, sincere, and silly. The friendship portrayed between the two main characters was inspirational and yet so authentic. If you don’t know, that’s how it’s supposed to be. If you can’t joke around with the person you love, um, why are you together? Life is a terminal condition. With all the heavy, laughter is a balance.

Thank you, John Green.

“Oh, I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”
― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars

*Side note- It was a pleasant surprise to learn that I actually had seen John before on You Tube. (Again I am crushing!) …anyway, John and his brother, Hank, have a channel that is definitely worth taking the time to watch- and sans Kleenex. Check out the Vlogbrothers!

Follow John Green on Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads.

 

Questions for you…

1.) How is the movie version?

2.) What other John Green books do you recommend?

3.) What other books make you cry, angry and/or laugh?

 

Sign up for the D. Marie Prokop Newsletter!

3 thoughts on “Book Review- The Fault in our Stars by John Green

  1. Hi Marie, I’ll take the first two questions. 1) My wife and I both enjoyed the movie, thought it was well cast and well acted. But the book is better. The movie can only get you so far into Hazel’s head, which is where most of the story takes place. 2) The only other John Green book I’ve read so far (I will read more) is Will Grayson, Will Grayson, which he co-authored. Very different story, but quirky and wonderful in its own way. My wife listened to the audio version and recommended it highly – they have two readers, and the actor who does Tiny sings the songs and really interprets the character.

    Like

    • Thanks for your thoughts! I just bought “An Abundance of Katherine” and look forward to starting it. I still haven’t seen the movie…busy summer! Might have to wait to rent it and cry alone…;)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Paper Towns by John Green Book Review | Author D. Marie Prokop- YA Sci/Fi and Children's Fiction

Thanks for following Author D. Marie Prokop. You are awesome.

