The Seeds of Inspiration

Akai_ito_posterI confess- I am an Asian drama addict.  One of the first seeds of inspiration for my story, Days of the Guardian Vol. 1, The Red String, was from a Japanese drama series which aired in 2008 (inspired by a book series by Kaho Miyasaka titled, ‘Akai Ito‘ or ‘Threads of Destiny.‘) As an avid knitter, I was thrilled to discover this beautiful myth using string.

Asian mythology is whimsical, romantic, and tragic. The red string myth is all of those things. But my novel is not another re-telling of this ancient fable. There were many other seeds of inspiration…

As a Trekkie. much of my inspiration came from the world of Star Trek. There is even a red string myth in Star Trek!  The red thread of note in the Star Trek universe is the infamous ‘red shirt.’ Everyone knows the crew member wearing a red shirt on the away mission is a goner. (If you didn’t know before, you do now!) But I digress…

Star Trek has inspired me to include a futuristic,sci-fi element to my novel. A device that does the impossible, an evil, know-it-all antagonist, and a study of humanity’s humanity and beyond are machinations inspired by Gene Roddenberry’s masterful storytelling.

 

Another seed of inspiration came from a show I just chanced to come across on Netflix years ago called The Invisible Man. (Not to be confused with the H.G. Wells novel of the same name. I read that also.) There’s nothing new under the sun, but I was impressed by the superhero-curse aspect to the main character (and their spin on the fictional mechanics of cloaking/invisibility) and incorporated it into my story. Almost every superhero tale has inspired me in a similar fashion. (See my post “The Downside of Superpowers.”

 

 

Sometimes you need a rescue…

 

 

I also admire and am inspired by real-life rescuers. Those who go, do, make a difference- and save the day. Organizations such as the International Justice Mission and Compassion International offer much inspiration. Some famous rescuers I drew inspiration from for  the Days of the Guardian series are- Corrie Ten Boom,  Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and God. You could say I view rescue as a religious thing.

“Religion that God accepts as pure and without fault is this: caring for orphans or widows who need help, and keeping yourself free from the world’s evil influence. James 1:27 NCV

It’s uncanny to me that all these motley inspirations fused together and gave birth to the  Days of the Guardian series. Truly uncanny.

 

How have you been inspired? I’d love to hear about it!

Thanks for following Author D. Marie Prokop. You are awesome.

