Houston Authors Bash 2015 Recap

image

This was my first book signing event EVER. It was fairly painless. I ordered books, mod-podged clipboards with origami paper, created sign-up sheets for my newsletter, and even ordered special candy (the White Rabbit Creamy Candies mentioned in The Baiji).
image

It was fun!

I met so many like-minded crazy people (writers). And my friends came out to support me. I even sold a book to a stranger.

This is how that went down–

“Hey- YOU’RE a kid! Do you like dolphins?” (Writers no talk so good.)

There were over 100 authors at the bash. I discovered that book signings are good for networking, though I was the odd-genre out. A wide variety of genres were represented. But only three children’s authors attended. There were a decent representation of Sci-Fi folks, a gaggle of Memoirists, a flight of Fantasy scribes, an overflow of Romance writers, and a some Mystery buffs. I did discover a whole new genre, the “Multiple Personalities Paranormal” genre. You know, the vampire/werewolf or the vampire/werewolf/angel or the vampire/werewolf/zombie or the vampire/unicorn/alien stories…

The Houston Writers Guild and RT Book Reviews Magazine attended. I bought the HWG collection of sci-fi stories called Tides of Possibility. An old acquaintance from my first NaNoWriMo writing group, Mandy Broughton, is one of the contributors. She is also a contributor for the WordPress blog, Space City Scribes. Check it out!
image

image

Some of my favorite authors at the Bash were seated close by. Sandra Biersdorfer wrote an adorable children’s book called Nana’s Banana. J. L. Clark’s beautiful covers for her YA series, The Avalon Relics, were boldly displayed on standalone banner. Author Dorothy Tinker had an embroidered quilt and an animatronic dragon to decorate with, creatively representing her YA Fantasy series. I was honored to meet these lovely and interesting authors. Dorothy Tinker will be having a book launch (and medieval costume contest) at Writespace, here in Houston on Saturday, March 7 @7pm. Check that out too!
image

6 thoughts on “Houston Authors Bash 2015 Recap

  1. It was so cool to see you doing this. I’m glad we were able to go. And thank you for signing you Baiji books for the girls. I’m sure they will love them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Viewed Posts of 2015 | Author D. Marie Prokop- YA Sci/Fi and Children's Fiction

Thanks for following Author D. Marie Prokop. You are awesome.

