Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy

        Claire sang off-key, but with unrestrained confidence, “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart. Where? Down in my heart! Where? Down in my heart! I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart. Down in my heart to stay!”

Ainsling laughed and smiled bigger.

“I need it in my head,” she told the exuberant child. “Not just my heart.”

“That’s silly,” Claire said. “Joy is down in your heart.”

“Where?” Ainsling asked.

Claire sang again, “Down in my heart!”

From Chapter 12, The Mystery of Joy, The Red Cloak, Days of the Guardian, Vol. 2


Joy by Latifah Phillips of Page CXVI


 

“What is joy?” he questioned, suppressing a yawn.

“A strong feeling of happiness or contentment,” she quoted.

“You sound like a dictionary,” he said. “A writer named Frederick Beuchner once said, Joy is a mystery because it can happen anywhere, anytime, even under the most unpromising circumstances, even in the midst of suffering, with tears in its eyes.

“Joy with tears?” Ainsling asked. She sighed.

From Chapter 13, The Little Children, The Red Cloak, Days of the Guardian, Vol. 2


Check out Latifah Phillips!

Sign up for the D. Marie Prokop Author Newsletter!

Thanks for following Author D. Marie Prokop. You are awesome.

